Tea Love: Instilling a Love of Tea, One Sip At A Time

Yesterday, I was in Mahwah, New Jersey at the Ramapo Reformed Church for my first ever fundraiser Tea Love talk.   Funds went to their Ladies Fellowship.

When I arrived, it was a gorgeous setup!   Tables with white porcelain cups and plates lined the room, each with a three-tiered tray laden with sweets nestled at the side.   Tucked in the middle were 12-inch plates packed with cucumber sandwiches, DELICIOUS cheese sticks (seriously, I need to get the recipe to share!), crab cakes, ham sandwiches, and all sorts of other goodies.   Perfect for an afternoon snack.

Three tables lined the side wall.   One had hats of all sorts, most looking like the were from the 1920s.   A sign explained that they were from one of the church’s members.   The middle contained my normal table – six different types of tea, displays of books, a chawan, some bamboo tools, matcha tea, loose tea versus bagged tea, and a “Fandom Tea” from Adagio Teas.   The last table had a bunch of Barbie dolls with crocheted outfits from the past, including a My Fair Lady Eliza Doolittle doll.

There must have been around thirty women there and even a few children (including a seventh birthday for a Miss Riley!).   We talked about tea, including the history, science, medical science, and how to brew a cup.   Finally, we wrapped up by dining on the great home-made food, drinking lots of tea, and enjoying each other’s company.

I truly enjoy each Tea Love talk that I do.   One woman at my last talk summed it up perfectly.   When I asked what people associate tea with, she answered, “Community,” stating people drinking tea just seem to become amiable and come together.   After hosting multiple Tea Love talks all over New Jersey, I can say that this is true.   I’ve seen people exchange phone numbers with complete strangers as they make plans to meet for a cup of tea.

So far, there is another fundraiser in the works for April that I am really excited for.   Keep on the lookout for the announcement!   If you are interested in having me come to talk to your organization (restricted to New Jersey), feel free to shoot me a message on Tea Love’s Facebook page and I will be sure to work out the details with you.

Thank you for reading, and happy sipping!

Comments on: "Another Successful Tea Love Talk!" (2)

  1. Sounds loverly. The ladies obviously worked hard.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

